All You Need To Know About Hindu Marriage Rituals!

In India, wedding is a very sacred ceremony which brings not only the two people who are getting married close to each other but also their families. A lot of importance is given to a plethora of rituals that are carried out before, during and even after the marriage ceremony.

The marriage ceremonies are generally very bright and colorful involving classy decorations, designer clothes, etc. Many a times the celebrations last for several days so as to carry out several rituals and functions.

Wedding Rituals:

The rituals are carried out as the pre-wedding rituals, the main wedding rituals, and the post-wedding rituals. In most of the wedding ceremonies, the main wedding rituals remain the same while the pre and the post wedding rituals varied as per the diverse regions in India.

Main wedding rituals:

The main rituals that are carried out in the Hindu wedding are:

This ritual is the most important ritual which is carried out by the father of the bride or her guardian. This ritual is said to be the beginning of the wedding ceremony as the father places the bride's hand to the grooms and hand over his daughter to the groom. In return, the groom promises the father that he will take care of her throughout the life.

In this ritual, the holy symbolic fire is lit by the groom to start his new household. The bride and the groom hold hands symbolizing marital union.

This ritual is said to be the crucial ritual in the wedding ceremony. It is also called as ‘Saath pheres’. Seven rounds are taken by the couple around the holy fire. Each of the phera is said to be associated with the vow that the couple takes while entering into the newly married life.

The significance of the vows taken in each of the pheras is as follows:

First phera:
The couple prays to the god to provide them with plenty of nourishing and pure food along with noble and respectful life.

Second phera:
They pray to the god requesting for physical and mental strength that will help them to lead a healthy and peaceful life together.

Third phera:
They pray to the God for wealth and ask the almighty to provide them spiritual strength to share all the pain and happiness.

Fourth phera:
The couple prays to God to have love and trust for long joyous togetherness.

Fifth phera:
They pray to god to bestow them with beautiful and noble children.

Sixth phera:
They pray for bountiful seasons together throughout the life.

Seventh phera:
In the last one, the couple prays for companionship, understanding, togetherness, unity and loyalty between themselves.

Many other rituals are carried out based on various regions. Some of them are as below:

Maharashtrian rituals:

Pre-wedding: sakharpuda, kelvan, haladi, seemaan pujan.

Wedding: antarpath, mangalashtak, sankalp, kanyadaan, vivah home, saptapadi, karmasampati.

Post-wedding: varat, gruhapravesh.

Gujrati rituals:

Pre-wedding: mangal muhurat, jaan, madhupak.

Wedding: kanyadaan, hasta milap, mangal pheras, saptapadi.

Post wedding: vidaai, gharni laxmi.

Punjabi rituals:

Pre-wedding: roka, sagan, chunni chadana, sangeet, mehendi, chuda, ghara ghardoli.

Wedding: shehra bandi and ghodi chadna, varmala, kanyadaan, mangal phera.

Post-wedding: vidaai.